APSN Banner

2024 general election, political party registration period ends

Tempo - August 15, 2022

Dewi Nurita, Jakarta – The registration period for political party candidates participating in the 2024 General Election has ended on Sunday, August 14. Of the 43 national parties that have Political Party Information System (Sipol) accounts, three parties did not register within the deadline from August 1-14 August. One of them is the Indonesian Student Party or Partai Mahasiswa Indonesia.

"Three political parties, namely the Peace and Prosperity Renewal Party (Partai Damai Sejahtera Pembaharuan), the Indonesian Student Party, and the People's Party (Partai Rakyat), have not registered until the deadline for registration on August 14, 2022, at 23:59 WIB," said the Commissioner of the Indonesian KPU (General Elections Committee), August Mellaz, Monday, August 15.

Thus, a total of 40 parties as candidates for the 2024 General Election have registered with the KPU as of yesterday. As many as 24 parties have declared their documents complete, while the other 16 parties' files are still being examined by the KPU and their status will be announced today.

The Indonesian Student Party had previously caused a stir because it brought up the names of students. As is known, students have been prohibited from participating in practical politics.

Jakarta State University lecturer Ubedillah Badrun, and former 1998 activist during the end of the 32-year reign of Soeharto, said the birth of the Indonesian Student Party was initially not viable in the country's political constellation.

24 political parties with completed legal documentation

  • Partai Demokrasi Indonesia Perjuangan (PDIP)
  • Partai Keadilan dan Persatuan (PKP)
  • Partai Keadilan Sejahtera (PKS)
  • Partai Persatuan Indonesia (Perindo)
  • Partai NasDem
  • Partai Bulan Bintang (PBB)
  • Partai Kebangkitan Nusantara (PKN)
  • Partai Garuda
  • Partai Demokrat
  • Partai Gelora
  • Partai Hanura
  • Partai Gerindra
  • Partai Kebangkitan Bangsa (PKB)
  • Partai Golongan Karya (Golkar)
  • Partai Amanat Nasional (PAN)
  • Partai Persatuan Pembangunan (PPP)
  • Partai Solidaritas Indonesia (PSI)
  • Partai Buruh
  • Partai Ummat
  • Partai Republik
  • Partai Rakyat Adil Makmur (Prima)
  • Partai Republiku Indonesia
  • Partai Swara Rakyat Indonesia
  • Partai Republik Satu

16 parties KPU is currently screening

  • Partai Reformasi
  • Partai Negeri Daulat Indonesia (Pandai)
  • Partai Demokrasi Rakyat Indonesia (PDRI)
  • Partai Kedaulatan Rakyat
  • Partai Berkarya
  • Partai Indonesia Bangkit Bersatu
  • Partai Pelita
  • Partai Kongres
  • Partai Karya Republik (Pakar)
  • Partai Bhinneka Indonesia
  • Partai Pandu Bangsa
  • Masyumi
  • Partai Pergerakan Kebangkitan Desa
  • Partai Damai Kasih Bangsa
  • Partai Pemersatu Bangsa
  • Partai Kedaulatan

Source: https://en.tempo.co/read/1622867/2024-general-election-political-party-registration-period-end