APSN Banner

Landslide victory for Prabowo-Gibran in Timor Leste with 61 percent votes

Tempo - February 19, 2024

Antara, Jakarta – Prabowo cemented a landslide victory in Timor Leste. With his running mate Gibran Rakabuming Raka, they won 61.6 percent of the vote, while Ganjar Pranowo – Mahfud MD bagged 28.9 percent and Anies Baswedan – Muhaimin Iskandar only got 9.0 percent.

Fidelis Ase Olin, member of the Dili Overseas Election Committee (PPLN), said the meeting to recapitulate the vote tally on Feb. 17 at the Indonesian Embassy in Dili concluded that Prabowo-Gibran received 2,106 votes. Ganjar-Mahfud got 987 votes, and Anies-Muhaimin got 307 votes. Meanwhile, there were 18 invalid votes or 0.5 percent.

A total of 3,418 Indonesian citizens voted. Quite a low number compared to the total of 5,833 registered on the Dili PPLN Permanent Overseas Voter List (DPTLN).

Voting in Timor Leste was carried out at eight TPSLN on Feb. 11 and using the Overseas Mobile Ballot Boxes (KSKLN) for Indonesian citizens in 12 districts on Feb. 4 to 6.

As with all overseas elections in other countries, Indonesian nationals in Timor-Leste only voted for presidents and vice presidents and members of the DPR.

On Feb. 14, the Overseas Voting Organizing Group (KPPSLN) in Timor-Leste carried out the official vote count starting at 15:00. According to PPLN, the counting process received widespread attention from the public.

For the DPR members' election, the most votes were won by PDIP (937), followed by Gerindra Party (700), PSI (437), Golkar Party (356), PKS (165), Democratic Party (153), PKB (144), PAN (131), Perindo (70), Nasdem Party (61), PPP (43), Labor Party (21), Hanura Party (19), Gelora Party (17), Ummat Party (8), PKN (7), Garuda Party (6), and PBB (3). There were 140 invalid votes.

Source: https://en.tempo.co/read/1835223/landslide-victory-for-prabowo-gibran-in-timor-leste-with-61-percent-vote