APSN Banner

Jokowi swears in 12 new ambassadors

Jakarta Post - October 26, 2020

Nina Loasana, Jakarta – President Joko "Jokowi" Widodo swore in 12 new ambassadors at the State Palace on Monday under strict health protocols.

The new envoys' inauguration was stipulated in Presidential Decree No.106/P/2020 issued on Oct. 16.

Vice president Ma'ruf Amin, Coordinating Political, Legal and Security Affairs Minister Mahfud MD, Foreign Minister Retno Marsudi and Cabinet Secretary Pramono Anung also attended the ceremony.

The sworn-in ambassadors include Dindin Wahyudin as ambassador to Senegal, Cabo Verde, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Ivory Coast and Sierra Leone, Roem Kono as ambassador to Bosnia and Herzegovina, Dewi Savitri Wahab as ambassador to Denmark and Lithuania, and Nana Yuliana as ambassador to Cuba, the Bahamas, the Dominican Republic, Haiti and Jamaica.Heri Akhmadi was appointed as envoy to Japan and the Micronesia Federation, while Elmar Iwan Lubis was appointed as ambassador to Iraq.

Iwan Bogananta was inaugurated as ambassador to Bulgaria, Albania and North Macedonia and Jose Antonio Morato Tavares was sworn-in as the new envoy for Russia and Belarus.

Jokowi also appointed Desra Percaya as ambassador to the United Kingdom, Ireland and the International Maritime Organization (IMO), Chalief Akbar Tjandraningrat as ambassador to Aljazair, Lutfi Rauf as ambassador to Egypt, and Rachmat Budiman as envoy for Thailand and the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UN-ESCAP).

Source: https://www.thejakartapost.com/news/2020/10/26/jokowi-swears-in-12-new-ambassadors.htm