APSN Banner

House members sworn in for next term

Jakarta Globe - October 1, 2019

Markus Junianto Sihaloho & Carlos K.Y. Paath & Diana Mariska, Jakarta – Members of the 2019-2024 term of the House of Representatives were sworn in by Supreme Court Chief Justice Muhammad Hatta Ali during a ceremony at the national legislative complex in Senayan, South Jakarta, on Tuesday.

The ceremony continued with the first plenary session of the House, when lawmakers were expected to elect the new speaker and deputy speakers. The meeting was led by its oldest and youngest members: Abdul Wahab Dalimunthe (80) of the Democratic Party and Hillary Brigitta Lasut (22) of the National Democratic Party (NasDem).

Membership of the House increased to 575 from 560 in the previous period term.

Based on the result of the April legislative election, only nine political parties are represented in the national legislature. The ruling Indonesian Democracy Party of Struggle (PDI-P) has 128 seats, while Golkar Party has 85. The main opposition Great Indonesia Movement Party (Gerindra) has 78, NasDem 59, National Awakening Party (PKB) 58, Democratic Party 54, Prosperous Justice Party (PKS) 50, National Mandate Party (PAN) 44 and United Development Party (PPP) 19.

The 711 members of the People's Consultative Assembly, which include the 575 House members, were also sworn in on Tuesday. Similar to the House, the first plenary meeting of the assembly was also led by the oldest member, 82-year-old Sabam Sirait, and the youngest member, 22-year-old Jialyka Maharani.

President Joko "Jokowi" Widodo, Vice President Jusuf Kalla and other prominent figures attended the inauguration ceremonies, which were preceded by street protests against the adoption by the House of a controversial amendment to the Law on the Corruption Eradication Commission (KPU) and plans to pass several other contentious bills, including a revision to the country's criminal code.

The newly constituted House will deliberate these bills.

Source: https://jakartaglobe.id/context/house-members-sworn-in-for-next-term