M. Faiz Zaki, Jakarta – A consumer Muhamad Adinurkiat reported the owner of Nabidz Wine, identified as BY, to the police under the Electronic Information and Transactions Law (ITE Law), Consumer Protection, and Halal Product Assurance.
An advocate Sumadi Atmadja said that his client incurred material losses because BY claimed that his product, Nabidz Wine, was halal or permissible for Muslims.
"The material losses are from the purchases we made," Sumadi said after filing the report to Jakarta Metro Jaya Police on Wednesday, August 23, 2023.
The Indonesian Ulema Council's (MUI) Fatwa Commission had earlier declared that Nabidz wine, which is made from fermented grape juice, was haram or forbidden for Muslims due to its high alcohol content based on laboratory tests.
The report was filed under the alleged crime of the Electronic Information and Transactions Law No. 19 of 2016, Law No. 8 of 1999 on Consumer Protection, and/or Law No. 33 of 2014 on Halal Product Assurance.
As evidence, Adi presented a bottle of Nabidz Wine with the packaging label bearing the 'Halal Indonesia' logo from the Religious Affairs Ministry. Sumadi said that his client had tested the beverage product with the halal certification consultancy Halal Corner and found that it contained 8.8 percent alcohol.
"[BY] claimed that it contains zero percent alcohol," he said, adding that the claim was posted on BY's Facebook and WhatsApp Status.
Sumadi said his client had repeatedly asked for confirmation of the alcohol content and BY insisted that Nabidz Wine was halal. According to him, the product has been in circulation since 2022.
"As for the matter of khamr, it is clear that it is haram. Our benchmark is MUI. Today, MUI has declared that Nabidz Wine is haram," Sumadi said.