APSN Banner

Govt expands tourist visa on arrival list to 60 countries

Jakarta Post - May 12, 2022

Jakarta – Signaling the revival of Indonesian tourism, the government has expanded the list of countries whose citizens are eligible for the Visa on Arrival for Tourism (VKSKKW) to 60, up from 43.

Foriegn nationals from the 60 countries on the list will be able to enter Indonesia through nine airports, 11 seaports and four border crossings as stipulated by the Directorate General of Immigration circular IMI-0584.GR.01.01/2022 on sustainable tourism during the COVID-19 pandemic.

At the same time, no new countries have been added to the Visa Exemption for Tourism (BVKKW) list.

The new policy took effect on April 28, rendering the earlier Directorate General of Immigration circular IMI-0549.GR.01.01/2022 dated April 5 revoked and invalid.

Immigration Directorate General public relations subcoordinator Achmad Nur Saleh explained that the number of Immigration Border Control (TPI) with Visa on Arrival services had been increased. The list now includes Zainuddin Abdul Majid International Airport in West Nusa Tenggara; Hang Nadim International Airport in Riau; Benoa Port in Bali; Dumai Port in Pekanbaru; and Tanjung Balai Karimun Port in Riau.

To attain a BVKKW or VKSKKW, foreign nationals must show a valid passport with at least six months remaining before expiration date, a return or transfer flight ticket to another country, proof of payment for Visa on Arrival, as well as proof of insurance for the duration of their stay.

"The VoA fee is Rp 500,000 as stipulated by Government Regulation No. 28/2019, with a renewal fee of Rp 500,000. The stay permit originating from the VoA can be extended once for 30 days at the nearest immigration office to the foreign national's area of residence," he said.

Achmad emphasized that stay permits originating from Visa on Arrival or Visa Exemption arrangements could not be changed to other stay permits, and visa holders are ineligible to apply for an onshore visa.

Foreign nationals as well as the tourist sector are expected to comply with immigration regulations, with hotel owners or managers obliged to provide information or data regarding foreign guests to facilitate their supervision.

"Foreign nationals proven to have misused their stay permits will be subject to immigration sanctions. Likewise, if they have violated health protocols or disrupted public order, they will be subject to sanctions according to the applicable laws and regulations," Achmad concluded.

The BVKKW or VKSKKW can be used by foreign nationals for tourism purposes or to carry out governmental assignments in international activities. For the latter, foreign nationals must also include the relevant invitation letter along with the above mentioned documents.

Source: https://www.thejakartapost.com/adv/2022/05/12/govt-expands-tourist-visa-on-arrival-list-to-60-countries.htm