APSN Banner

12 regencies in NTT located in border areas with Timor Leste, Australia

Jakarta Post - June 3, 2015

Jakarta – Up to 12 regencies with 88 districts in East Nusa Tenggara (NTT) are located in areas bordering Timor Leste and Australia, head of NTT Boundary Agency Paulus Nasehat said Wednesday.

Nasehat explained that five of the 12 regencies that had land borders with Timor Leste were Belu, Malaka, Timor Tengah Utara, Timor Tengah Selatan and Kupang.

The other seven regencies had sea boundaries with Timor Leste and Australia, namely Rote Ndao, Alor, Sabu Raijua, Sumba Timur, Sumba Barat, Sumba Tengah and Sumba Timur.

Nasehat said that the classification of boundary regions with neighboring countries was stipulated in Presidential Decree No. 179/2014 on spatial planning in border areas.

He further said there was one border still under dispute in Amfoang Timur district in Kupang regency. "Naktuka kampong is still being disputed by the two countries. The others have been fully settled," he said, referring to Indonesia and Timor Leste, adding that delegations from the two countries were expected to meet to settle the issue as soon as possible. (hhr)

Source: http://www.thejakartapost.com/news/2015/06/03/12-regencies-ntt-located-border-areas-with-timor-leste-australia.html