APSN Banner

Anies, Sandiaga officially declared winners of election

Jakarta Post - May 5, 2017

Callistasia Anggun Wijaya, Jakarta – The Jakarta General Elections Commission (KPU Jakarta) has officially announced that Anies Baswedan and Sandiaga Uno will lead the city as governor and deputy governor, respectively, for the period of 2017-2022, replacing Jakarta Governor Basuki "Ahok" Tjahaja Purnama and Deputy Governor Djarot Saiful Hidayat.

"The gubernatorial and deputy gubernatorial candidates who obtained most of the votes in the 2017 Jakarta election are Anies Rasyid Baswedan and Sandiaga Salahuddin Uno," KPU Jakarta commissioner Betty Epsilon Idroos said.

KPU Jakarta head Sumarno said that Anies and Sandiaga secured 57.96 percent of the votes cast during the gubernatorial runoff election, while Ahok and Djarot got 42.04 percent.

By law, they deserved to be declared as the governor and deputy governor-elect, Sumarno said. He added that the commission would submit the decree that stated the winners of the election to the City Council as a legal basis to inaugurate Anies and Sandiaga.

Neither Ahok nor Djarot attended the declaration. The Jakarta administration was represented by Saefullah, the administration's secretary.

Source: http://www.thejakartapost.com/news/2017/05/05/anies-sandiaga-officially-declared-winners-of-election.html